EPQ Award

The 2022-23 round is now open!

The Extended Project Qualification (EPQ) is an opportunity for sixth form students in England and Wales to do an independent research project. Find out more here.

After a successful launch in the 2019-20 academic year, the BSSH now offers an annual prize for the best EPQ project on any aspect of sport history. Students are invited to submit their EPQ essay via their teachers for consideration by our panel of judges. All students entering for the 2022/23 EPQ are eligible.

The prize is £100 in Amazon vouchers for the winner, and one year's membership of the BSSH for the winner and the teacher submitting the essay. The winning student will also be invited to present their project at our annual conference in August 2023, with all expenses paid by the BSSH.

Additional guidance

Our colleagues at Sporting Heritage have pulled together this guide for supervisors and students who might like some advice on writing a sports history EPQ - do check it out for additional support and guidance. 

Application process

  1. Entries should be submitted as a PDF document by a member of staff on behalf of the student, not by the student directly.
  2. The entry should be accompanied by a separate sheet giving the student’s name, the name and address of the institution at which they are studying, and contact details (email address and telephone number) for the relevant member of staff.
  3. Entries should be emailed to Katie Taylor - katie.taylor02@ntu.ac.uk.
  4. Teachers with queries related to the competition may contact Katie Taylor at katie.taylor02@ntu.ac.uk.


The deadline for the 2022-23 round is midnight on Friday 14 April 2023.

Results will be made known before the end of the summer term. 


EPQ Prize Winner 2023
Read more
EPQ Prize Winner 2021
Read more
Previous EPQ award winners
Read more